The Institute’s Operations

INIE has been a pleasure to work at, it is incredible to me how much trust both Executive Director Jessica Lowe-Minor and Membership and Events Coordinator Alexa Cardone have instilled in the interns. With the trust we have been instilled with growth has followed, I feel I have learned how to better my work through the autonomy. On Thursday, June 15th we helped run the Tallahassee Brand-a-thon which allowed for three local nonprofits to receive professional rebranding help from 8 am to 6 pm. The energy was incredible, from beginning to finish the event was a complete success. The looks on the faces of the nonprofit members when showed the final product was priceless.

One of my favorite aspects of the internship are the events, I have been working closely with Rick Paul, who is the project manager for the new TCC Spark! series promoting local organizations. There have been multiple events so far and another is coming on July 18th that will be focusing on ways that for-profit organizations can improve their bottom line via strategic partnerships with nonprofits. For this event we are currently trying work on getting an experienced panel together that can provide further insight to the benefits of for-profit and nonprofit organizations working together. I am not going to name the organizations, but we already have a commitment from a nonprofit and their for-profit sponsor to speak to how this partnership has benefited them both.

Moving into the final few weeks of this internship there is only one thought that comes to my mind: “what more can I take away from this experience?”. So far I feel like I have done a plethora of tasks, I could not have asked for a better fit. I have learned to not only do the monotonous office work but I also have been working hands on with members, helping organize events, and I myself have been able to network within the community as well. I am beyond excited for the homestretch of this internship and I am ready to make it the most effective stretch yet.

 

 

Leave a Reply

