Shift Happens

At the onset of this internship, I originally thought I was going to be working more with scheduling and attending meetings with legislators. However, due to the fact that session has recently ended, it hasn’t really worked out that way up until now. I have my fingers crossed for the future though. Over the past couple of weeks I have somewhat shifted my view of what my role is with the INIE team. Instead of interacting with legislators, I’ve shifted my focus more to scheduling, marketing, and advertising upcoming INIE events, as well as events for the Association of Fundraising Professionals Big Bend Chapter, a group that is an INIE member and somewhat of a partner. Although I was originally very excited to get to meeting with legislators, I’ve enjoyed gaining the practical, hands on, approach to making an event happen, and advertising it so that we get a good attendance turnout. As I said, it’s great to get this practical knowledge that will certainly benefit me in future professional settings. But it’s also good to experience a shift in what I expected on the onset of this job and learn how to roll with the punches. So to sum it all up: shift happens.

Leave a Reply

